FORCES Tavern: We welcome you to The Tavern, you are welcome to browse and read, but please register to post.

Hi everyone

If you so choose, place your introduction here, and again - we do Welcome you to FORCES. Also, please note that The Tavern has a LIVE CHAT feature, just click on the link above!

Hi everyone

Postby 5aday » Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:43 pm

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm a college student and smoker living in Oklahoma, and have become extremely distressed at how every day it appears as if more of the freedoms I take for granted are being slowly taken away from me. First with Oklahoma's ban on smoking in restaurants (fortunately I can still smoke in bars, although the state is now trying to outlaw that to), then with the SCHIP tax increase, and now with the possible ban on mail order tobacco (this one really scares me, the government not allowing consumers access to the business of their choice is unconstitutional).

I usually smoke 5-7 MYO cigarettes a day purely for pleasure, I've never really felt "addicted to smoking" like some anti's would lead me to believe. The research I have read here along with other places and from looking at the true statistics without the biased viewpoint of the health industry, as well as my own personal beliefs, have lead me to believe I'm only increasing my enjoyment of life by smoking, with only a very small to nonexistent "risk" factor.

Anyway just wanted to say hello, and formally introduce myself.

Have a great day!
5aday

Postby WinstonSmith » Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:05 pm

Welcome, 5aDay. Please feel free to post frequently. Plenty of room to share your mind here.

I recommend the book "For Your Own Good: The Anti-Smoking Crusade and the Tyranny of Public Health" by Jacob Sullum, unless of course you've already read it.

http://www.amazon.com/Your-Own-Good-Ant ... 0684827360
WinstonSmith
Trusted Activist

Postby Ariel » Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:45 am

Hi 5aday!